Integrated Simavionics help needed

Forum for discussion of aircraft, sounds and panels

Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2516 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 2:45 pm

I purchased this program specifically to get the FMC to use on the MTN fleet aircraft.

So far I have been unable to see it show up on any aircraft that I have modified using the authors instructions which are less than clear.

I also purchased FS Panels to insert into the aircraft which I'm having no luck with either.

I was wondering if someone could post a config.sys file for any of the fleets aircraft so I can compare mine and find out what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks in advance.

Tom
User avatar
MTN2516
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:55 pm

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2451 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:27 pm

Hey Tom,

Typically, you would alter the panel.cfg file if you are customizing the interior cockpit in any way. I'm not sure what you mean by the config.sys file -- when I think of that, I think of the Windows system file which has no bearing on what you are trying to accomplish.

If you look at the panel.cfg file for your aircraft (should be under the panel folder beneath the main folder of your aircraft) usually you would add a new Window## to the end of the list of Window definitions near the top and then describe that new window further down in that same file if you wanted to add a new panel to the cockpit. I'm not 100% certain without seeing it, but I would guess that's what the author is telling you to do.

If possible, reply to this with the instructions you received and I'd be happy to try and figure this out with you.

Cheers,
MTN2451
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:55 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2516 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 6:59 pm

Wow, thanks for the quick reply.

I did mean panel.cfg file not config.sys, my mistake. I started this about a month ago and gave up after a couple of weeks of trying.

Okay here's what I've done. I d/l the retro-fit panels for the crj planes from the web site.(http://isgsim.com/?page=panel_library). The author says this is the easiest way to set up the gauges.

I know the panels are aliased to the FSX CRJ700 (according to the MTN panel.cfg files) so I saved the original panel.cfg and copied the retro-fit to the FSX CRJ700 folder but but no gauges appeared. Then I copied the retro-fit panels to mtn.crj* folders but no difference in them either. I also placed the retro-fit CRJ700.cfg file in the FSX\ISG\Airplanes folder as instructed.

I then tried to edit the panel.cfg file by inserting a new window following the authors instructions into the original panel.cfg file but the cockpit is black except for the FMC and a couple other gauges that are floating around. They work, but everything else is missing. Can't fly like that.

This was recommended by one of the pilots so I know it works but not for me.

I appreciate you taking the time to help me. I'll continue to keep working on my own and if you can figure out what I'm doing wrong, that would be great!

Tom

Below is the tutorial I copied from the link on the website.(http://www.isgsim.com/tut1/isg_tut1.htm) minus the pictures.


ISG is a gauge addon, in order for it to work properly it must be installed into the panel
of the aircraft you wish to use it in.

This tutorial will take you through the steps required to install the ISG1 gauges into
the default FS9/FSX 747-400's panel.


1) Open Windows Explorer and Navigate to your FS2004 / Aircraft/B747_400/panel folder.
(If you have FSX , Navigate to your FSX/SimObjects / Airplanes / B747_400/panel folder.

2) Make backup copy of the panel.cfg (usually I name my backup file panel_orig.cfg).

This will allow you to restore all the changes if you wish to return to the default
panel settings for the 747.



3) Open the panel.cfg file in notepad.


4) Open the 747_Background_640.bmp file located in the '/ B747_400/panel folder'in Windows Paint.

The '747_Background_640.bmp' is the 2D main panel bitmap and it will be defined
in the section labeled [Window00] in the panel.cfg file.

This is the image that displays when the aircraft's main 2D panel is open.

We can use this .bmp file to get the coordinates on where to place the gauges onto
the 2D panel.


Installing ISG1 Gauges into the panel.cfg file.



When installing the ISG1 gauges into the panel.cfg file, use 'isg1!' as the main
gauge reference followed by the name of the sub-gauge you wish to install.

Example:
gaugeXX=isg1!B777_PFD_NB, 14,143,147,166

The gaugexx part refers to the gauge number in the panel window.
The isg1! part is the prefix name of the main ISG .gau file.

The Name the comes after the '!' symbol refers to the name of the individual sub-gauge contained
within the gauge file. For a more detailed description of the sub gauges available and
their names see the ISG Settings.pdf document located in your FS../isg/Docs subfolder
(starting on page 15).


Replace the default 747 PFD with the ISG PFD.



6) In windows paint, click on the selection tool (usually a rectangular dotted box).

7) Move the mouse cursor to the position the upper left corner of the glass part of the
PFD in the bitmap.

In this example I used position 14,143 for the upper left corner.

8 Click the mouse on the 14,143 position then hold the mouse down and drag it to the
lower right corner. For this example I dragged it to position 147,166.



You can now use these exact same coordinates for positioning the gauge in the panel.cfg file.
14,43 for the gauges x,y position (in pixels) on the background bitmap (which is always
positioned from the bitmaps upper left corner), and 147,144 for the width and height of the
gauge.

Ok lets return to the panel.cfg file, and find the 747's PFD gauge line in [Window00]

It should look like this...

gauge11=Boeing747-400!Primary Flight Display, 1, 126

9) Replace that line with this...

gauge11=isg1!B777_PFD_NB, 14,143,147,166

(Note: If you wish to keep the original line as a reference, but not have it be used,
prefix thge line with two forward slashes '//'

//gauge11=Boeing747-400!Primary Flight Display, 1, 126

The two forward slashes tell the panel interpreter to ignore that line.
)

Note: As a reminder name of the ISG PFD is called 'B777_PFD_NB' as referenced with the
'isg1!B777_PFD_NB' panel setting. The name of all the available ISG1 sub-gauges are
in the ISG Settings.pdf document located in your FS../isg/Docs subfolder (starting on page 15).

10) Save the panel.cfg file, and reload the 747 from the aircraft menu

(Note: you do not need to leave or restart FS for this, to see the results of you editing change,
reloading the aircraft is enough for the panel.cfg changes to take effect.



You can see now on the panel, the default 747 PFD has been replaced by the ISG1 PFD.

(Note: You can repeat these same steps above for adding any ISG1 gauge to the 2D panel, just enter the
same coordinates determined by measuring the pixel position and size in Windows Paint.)


Replace the default 747 Navigation Display with the ISG ND

11) Repeat procedure in windows paint for obtaining the4 coordinates for the PFD, gauge, and
get the coordinates for the ND gauge.



For this example I obtained the coordinates 188,148 for the position of the upper left
corner of the gauge, and 146, 158 for the width and height of the gauge.

12) With the new coordinates the Default PFD's line..

gauge12=Boeing747-400!Multi-Function Display, 175, 126

with this line...

gauge12=isg1!HW_B737_ND_NB, 188,148,146,158




13) Save the panel.cfg file.

When the aircraft is reloaded you can see now the default 747's ND is replaced with the ISG ND gauge.


Add the ISG1 SMITHS_FMS gauge as a popup window

Usually the ISG1 FMC is added to the panel as a popup window, which can be opened and
closed via a icon button placed on the main panel.

14) In the panel.cfg file, in the top section labeled '[Window Titles]' add a new line
for the name of the FMC's popup window. Whatever the last window's number is in the
section add 1 to it for the number of the FMC's window.

In my panel.cfg file, the last window number is 06 (the Mini panel), so I made my new
window number 07, and named it 'ISG1 SMITHS FMS'.

[Window Titles]
...
window06=Mini Panel
Window07=ISG1 SMITHS FMS

In FS when you open the 'Views / Instrument Panel' menu item, you will see this new window
listed.


15) Scroll down in the panel.cfg file, and find the last [Windowxx] setting (In mine its
[Window06]. Then add the new window section using the exact lines below.

[Window07]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=197,271
window_size_ratio=1.000
position=0
visible=0
ident=4004
window_size= 0.350, 0.700
window_pos= 0.650, 0.200

gauge00=isg1!SMITHS_FMS_BR, 0,0,197,271


Make sure the [windowxx] number matches the number of the window Title you made for the
FMS.

16) Reload the Aircraft, and go to the Views/Instrument Panel' menu and select the ISG1 SMITHS FMS
menu item.



You should now see the FMS displayed in the panel.


Add the Icon Button to Open/Close the FMS

17) Return to Windows paint now to get the coordinates of where to place the Icon Button
to Open/Close the FMS.

In my case I selected a spot above the the default Icons, at x,y position 119,94, width
and height 15,15.



18) Return to the panel.cfg file , scroll back up to [Window00] section, in the bottom of that
section, add the FMS_OPEN gauge using the obtained coordionates.

[Window00]
...
gauge58=isg1!FMS_OPEN, 119,94,15,15

(Note: The the gaugexx number needs to be unique, in my panel.cfg file the last gauge number
in the [window00] section. In my panel.cfg file the last gauge number was Gauge57 (Gps Icon)
so the new gauge I added was 'Gauge58'.)

19) Save the Panel.cfg file and reload the aircraft.




You should now be able to see the new FMS Icon on the panel. Click on the FMS Icon button
and the FMS gauge should open. Click on it again and the FMS should close.

Add the ISG1 EFIS control panel gauge as a popup window

Apply the same steps in the panel.cfg as was done to add the FMS to the panel, to add the EFIS
Control panel.

19) Add a new window title to the '[Window Titles]' section.

[Window Titles]
...
Window08=ISG1 EFIS_CTRL

20) Add a new window below the window section you added for the FMS.

[Window08]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=315,310
window_size_ratio=1.000
position=0
visible=0
ident=4013
window_size= 0.500, 0.500
window_pos= 0.000, 0.000

gauge00=isg1!HW_B737_EFIS_CNTR_BR, 0,0,315,310

Again make sure the the Window number matches the number of the window title.

21) Now go back to the [Window00] section, and add a new line for the Icon Button
to Open/Close the EFIS Control panel.

gauge59=isg1!EFIS_CTRL_OPEN, 139,104,15,15

22) Save the panel.cfg file, and reload the



You should now see a new Icon for the EFIS CTRL. Click on the EFIS CTRL Icon button
to open and close the EFIS Control panel.


Add LNAV, VNAV, and TCAS functionality to the panel

23) Return to the panel.cfg file, and add the lines below to the [Window00] section.

The first 2 lines add the LNAV and VNAV button on the panel (near where the FMS button as placed).


gauge60=isg1!LNAV, 74,94,15,15
gauge61=isg1!VNAV, 89,94,15,15
gauge62=ISG1_TCAS!Logic, 1,1,1,1



The 3rd line adds the TCAS logic gauge to the panel. When the TCAS logic gauge is added
to the Panel, pressing the TFC button on the EFIS Control panel will activate TCAS mode
and you will hear the TA and RA alerts from the TCAS system, also nearby aircraft will
display on the ISG Navigation display. Note make the coordinates of the TCAS gauge 1,1,1,1.


A reminder, make sure the new gauge numbers are unique to that window section.

24) Save the Panel.cfg file and reload the Aircraft.



You should now see the two new Icon buttons for LNAV and VNAV.

The LNAV and VNAV buttons will not work until a Flight Plan is loaded into the FMC or
the MCU gauge.

This is pretty much all you need to add the ISG gauges and the FMC to the panel.

Below is an additional step needed if you wish to add the gauges to the Virtual Cockpit.


Add PFD and ND gauges to the Virtual Cockpit



Unlike the 2D panel, we cannot use the coordinates of the background bitmap to add
a gauge to the Virtual Cockpit. You can only place gauges in the Virtual cockpit where
the model designer placed a gauge surface (or a hole in the 3D model) to place a gauge.

So generally this means you can usually only place a gauge in the VC where one already exists, and
replace it at those approximate coordinates.

Use the settings below to replace the Default 747's PFD, and ND with the ISG1 PFD and ND.

[Vcockpit01]
...
//gauge03=Boeing747-400!Primary Flight Display, 6, 234, 243, 267
gauge03=isg1!B777_PFD_NB, 20,260,215,230,VC
//gauge04=Boeing747-400!Multi-Function Display, 286, 259, 224, 252
gauge04=isg1!HW_B737_ND_NB, 287,273,216,214,VC


Notice the coordinates are close, but not exactly the same. Really this is a matter of trial
and error. I started with those same coordinates but I felt I could position them better so
moved them a few times till I got the fit I wanted on the panel.

This is pretty much how you will have to position and size the ISG gauges in the Virtual Cockpit.
Start with thye coordinates of the gauge you are replacing, and if necessary make a few adjustments
till you get the positioning you want on the panel. It will; probably mean you'll need to reload the Aircraft
a few times to see how things look till you get it right.


24) Save the Panel.cfg file and reload the Aircraft.

You should now see the ISG PFD, and ND added to the default 747's Virtual Cockpit.



Summary of Panel.cfg changes.

Added Two popup window Titles for the FMC, and the EFIS Control panel.


Added to the main panel window [Window00], the ISG PFD, ND gauges, the
Icon button for the FMS, EFIS CTRL panel, VNAV, and LNAV. Also added
the TCAS logic gauge.



Added two new window sections for the FMS and EFIS Control panel. And (optionally) added the ISG
PFD and ND to the Virtual Cockpit.


The steps taken in this tutorial can be applied to most aircraft models, the only real difference
will the the coordinates used to position and size the gauges. Editing panel.cfg
files is still a bit of a trial and error process. Every Aircraft panel is different therefore
no one setting will work on all aircraft models.

For easier panel editing, I do recommend the FS Panel studio product. It has a drag and drop
interface that lets you visually see how the gauge will be positioned and placed on the panel,
and is a far less tedious process of getting coordinates by selecting parts of the panel bitmap
as we've done here in this tutorial.

http://www.fspanelstudio.com

FS Panel studio is a payware product, but if you plan on editing a lot of panels its well worth
the asking price.
User avatar
MTN2516
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:55 pm

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2451 » Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:40 pm

Tom,

What about the gauges themselves? Aren't they supposed to go in the Gauges folder? Did you put them there? In other words, the panel.cfg references the new gauges, but the gauge files themselves have to exist somewhere on your system. The fact that you are saying things are black makes me think that some of the gauges themselves are missing.

Cheers,
MTN2451
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:55 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2516 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:21 pm

Yeah, when the program installs it automatically installs all the new gauges into the FSX\Gauges folder with a ISG name. I can also see them when using FS Panels when I tried to build and add to existing panels.

The easiest way, according to the website, is just download the new panel files they have available for various planes into your existing panel folders, select the aircraft and it should be there. I wish.

I uninstalled/re-installed the SimAvionics program today but to no avail. I thinks there's just a big disconnect in my configuration files somewhere not to mention that over the years I have added/deleted so many planes that there's probably an issue there as well. The reason I say that is because I followed the instructions to the letter for installing panels on the Lear and the 747-400 default planes and neither worked for me.

I should probably just bite the bullet and re-install FSX and start over fresh. I've been running this since 2006 and I'm sure the files have become adulterated over the last 8 years as I've added and removed numerous aircraft, scenery, traffic, sound and utilities but that's a big job so I think I'll wait until the weekend. Or not do it at all and enjoy everything else that works.

If you can think of anything I might be doing wrong let me know and thanks for taking the time to help me.
User avatar
MTN2516
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:55 pm

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN001 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 8:49 pm

Tom, I tried to read the start of the tutorial you posted above, and gave up. Whoever wrote that sure knows how to make a short story long. Catch me online sometime, or I'll watch for you flying. We'll get together on Teamspeak. I've used these gauges for years, and I couldn't imagine flying without them. I have them installed in every panel I use. It's not that hard, really, to get them working, but the panel.cfg changes must be exact.
MTN001
 
Posts: 1362
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:29 am
Location: Casper, WY

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2451 » Tue Nov 18, 2014 10:05 pm

Tom,

Gary can probably help you more than I as I don't actually use these gauges, although I have done plenty of farting around with .cfg files in the past 10 years!! :lol:

I did go to the ISG website and downloaded one of those panel refits and looked at it. Those panel.cfg files are for specific aircraft and assume that you already have all necessary files (gauges, bitmaps, etc.) installed for the panel that came with that aircraft, so if you are getting black screens, it is most likely that some of the other gauges and bitmap files (i.e. non-ISG stuff) related to that specific panel are missing from your system...that would be my guess anyhow.

I hope you get it sorted out.

Cheers,
MTN2451
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:55 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2516 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:35 am

I appreciate your help.

I'm not going to give up but maybe move this to a back burner and work on it from time to time.

In the mean time I'm going to enjoy the rest of what I have and continue to fly as much as I can.
User avatar
MTN2516
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:55 pm

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN2451 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:37 am

You're welcome...I see you online right now...jump on TeamSpeak if you like and we can work on this. I ended up buying these gauges out of curiosity and have them working on my CRJ-1000.

Cheers,
MTN2451
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:55 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Re: Integrated Simavionics help needed

Postby MTN1664 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 6:28 pm

root around and download a program called CONFIG EDIT (cfgedit.exe)
I use it to edit and make changes in my panels
MTN1664
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 5:37 am
Location: Phoenix, Arizona


Return to Fleet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest